Finding Balance between Work and Play

Willy Kon
3 min readFeb 11, 2021

--

Hey, what´s up, everybody! I hope you´re feeling amazing today. I´m spreading tons of good energy to you guys. Today´s topic is one I really want to share; it´s about the good use of time: How to Balance Work and Play.

We are all given only 24 hours a day, but it is how we use it that really counts. Why do some people become successful and others don´t? Successful people become successful in the first place because they understand one key principle: their best asset is time. They use their time for their own good, working on their own projects and being persistent.

But that doesn´t mean you can´t take time off to relax. Some people have the mentality of “I have to be doing something! I need to be busy!” And they work, and work, and work…

Given free time, some simply don’t know what to do about it. They become anxious when they have free time. Now, what if you have tons of free time and don’t know what to do about it? Check out this article about meaningful hobbies.

Research has shown that balancing work and play not only makes your productivity increase exponentially but also improves your positive state of mind and body. You must grind, but also chill.

Having that balance in work and play management is a sure way to boost your lifestyle.

You know what they say:

Work hard, play hard.

Before you ask, I don´t really have a schedule. I know it is important to keep a schedule but to be honest, it depends on the person, and frankly, it´s not for me. So, if you don´t have a schedule, what do you do? This is what has helped me.

Pomodoro Technique

A technique I learned as I was checking out writing tips was the Pomodoro Technique. Wikipedia definition:

The technique uses a timer to break down work into intervals, traditionally 25 minutes in length, separated by short breaks.

  1. Make sure what goal/project I want to work on.
  2. I set myself in my workspace. Sit back and get comfortable. Get coffee depending on my mood.
  3. In my phone, I set my timer to 25 minutes and start working. Concentrate on your work.
  4. When my timer rings, I set it to 5 minutes and I relax for a while. After the 5 minutes, I repeat the 25 minutes process.
  5. I do this four times and finally, give myself a longer break (30 minutes), and then I can choose if I keep working or stop it for that day.
  6. Repeat (if you want to maximize productivity)

Build a list of hobbies

It is through writing down my favorite activities that helped me a lot. What things resonate with my heart and what activities I do that I enter the flow state. The hobbies shouldn´t be limited to only consuming (reading books, watching movies, playing games) but consider making things, I´m talking about doing artistic activities. Work with your hands. Create anything. Playing an instrument, writing stories, poetry, drawing, crafting DIY stuff, woodcarving…

These hobbies will keep you busy in your free time (although it shouldn’t be your goal to be busy) but they can open doors to wonderful opportunities, like your dream job, who knows.

Choose what you consume

In my free time, if I don’t feel like creating anything, I watch motivational videos. Listen to my favorite motivational speakers or read about the historical figures/fictional characters I admire. Muhammad Ali, Elon Musk, Warren Buffett, whoever you admire!

Consume ideas from your role models, that‘s what I do. What you watch should not only make you feel great, but it empowers you.

Well, that´s it. I hope you found this article helpful.

Until next time! Thank you for reading!

--

--